A to Z of me

A to Z of me

Ages ago now I was tagged by Kaiden Laverty to take part in an A to Z of all the things you don’t know about me. I can talk about Monkey for hours but I’m not so good at talking about me which is why it’s taken me forever to write this post. Anyway it’s done now so here goes.

Allergies

I don’t have any allergies and if I’m honest I never used to believe in them but now they’re a big part of my life. Monkey has multiple allergies and whilst she’s not as poorly as when she was a tiny baby they do have a huge impact. These days I spend a lot of time trying to raise funds and awareness for Allergy UK who helped our family so much.

Betty’s

Betty’s is my absolute favourite place to eat. I love afternoon tea even though I don’t actually drink tea and everyone knows this is the best place for it.

Christian

You’re probably more likely to know this from reading my blog than meeting me in real life but I’m a Christian. My faith is very important to me and something that I have been working on being more open about.

Diet Coke

I’m addicted to the stuff! There’s not really much else to say.

Excitable

I can get far too giddy far too quickly. I guess some people might find it annoying but at least I’m having fun.

Football

I’m a huge football fan. I was brought up watching Manchester United and was lucky enough to have a season ticket when they were winning everything in the 90s. I’ve not been back to Old Trafford since the Glazer takeover in 2005 though and these days watch FC United of Manchester instead. I don’t get to many games since Monkey came along but I do still love my football.

Genealogy

It’s been a while since I did any work on it but I love researching my family tree. I find it so interesting to see how my relatives lived in the past. Although discovering that one of my relatives was a servant in the home of my husband’s relatives was a low point!

Happy Hardcore

Yes, I know I should have grown out of it by now but I still love it. I was a proper raver in my younger days and whilst there is no way I’d manage an all nighter anymore I still love the music. So many good memories and it’s still great for dancing round the kitchen to.

Internet

I spend far too much time messing about on the internet. Hardly any of it is actually productive.

Janet

That’s my name!

Katy Day Designs

I’m lucky enough to be a brand rep for Katy Day Designs.  She makes the most gorgeous jewellery. I’ll be telling you all about my bible verse bracelet in the next few days but you really should check out her website.

Little Mr and Miss Apparel

Monkey is a brand rep for Little Mr and Miss Apparel. Chances are if you’ve ever admired one of her outfits it will be from there. We both love their clothes and Monkey is such a little poser she loves doing pictures for them.

Manchester

Not only is it the world’s finest city, it’s home!

Nandos

We are at Nandos quite a lot pre-Monkey. It’s a good job we like it because it is definitely one of the best places to eat out with allergies. Their allergy file is amazing – so clear and readily available unlike a lot of places. They’re really good about cross contamination too and basically can’t do enough to help.

Only child

I’m an only child and the likelihood is that Monkey will be an only child too. This does NOT mean either of us are spoilt. It’s just the way things work out sometimes.

Penpalling

Penpalling is probably my main hobby and one that people who don’t write letters seem to be fascinated by. I’ve had penpals for 30 years now (that makes me sound ancient – I was very young when I started) and find writing letters a really good way to relax. I’m not sure exactly how many pals I have at the moment but it’s a lot. I write and receive letters most days.

Quirky

I’m not particularly! But I’m not a queen either and they were the only Q words I could think of.

Running

I’m not a natural runner. I don’t particularly enjoyed it. But I will be running a half marathon in September. I’m doing the Great North Run in September and Monkey is doing the mini run to raise money for Allergy UK. You can sponsor us here

Short

I’m only five foot tall. I used to hate being so short but it doesn’t bother me too much anymore.

Toddler book club

I love to see kids with books and I run a book club for kids up age four in my local area. We read a story and then do activities based on the story. We usually make a lot of mess and we always have a lot of fun.

Unfinished projects

I am the queen of these! I’m full of big ideas that I never quite manage. My family tree cross stitch and gentleness quilt are the big two I’m determined to get finished.

Vic and his bloody van

Monkey is learning phonics at nursery. They use Jolly Phonics where each sound has an action and a song. It obviously works because Monkey is doing so well with her ‘reading’ but those songs get in your head and you just can’t get them out. Vic in his van is definitely the worst!

World Vision

sponsor a child through the charity World Vision. Regina is 7 and lives in Uganda. I love receiving her letters and updates from the charity and seeing the real difference child sponsorship can make.

Xray

I’ve had quite a few xrays but the most memorable was a chest xray. We saw it up on the light box before the doctor came to talk to us. My husband decided all that black stuff in the middle looked dodgy and needed to come out. That black stuff was my heart!

Yes

I say this far too often. I never want to turn into a selfish person only doing things for myself but sometimes I think I need to practice saying no.

Zoo

Every year on Monkey’s birthday we go to Chester Zoo. I’m looking forward to visiting again in a few weeks.

I’m tagging the following bloggers.

Anna at Squats, sass and saggy skin

Rachel at Coffee, cake, kids

Charlotte at Cups of Charlotte

Kristy at Miss Porkpie

Amanda at Delightful note

Emma at Mummy Em

Naomi at Trips with a tot

Siobhan at The baby boat diaries

Tim at Broken Thoughts

I’m looking forward to finding out more about you all.

17 thoughts on “A to Z of me

  1. I’ve seen quite a few people doing these posts and I think it’s a really good idea to let your readers get to know you a bit better. I love Betty’s as well, if I’m ever in York I try to go there for brunch.
    V ❤️

    Like

  2. Fab post, and a great read. And although I’m Jen to almost everyone, it is nice to meet another Janet, because that is what my parents called me 😉

    Like

  3. This is a great way to learn more about fellow bloggers! I love that you’re a penpal-er – I didn’t know people even still wrote letters given the availability and immediacy of social media, texts and emails etc. How lovely 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

