Stay strong Manchester

Stay strong Manchester

On Monday evening once Monkey was in bed I sat down and wrote a plan. I’d not been great about blogging for the previous two weeks and wanted to sort it out. I had so many things I wanted to write about, I just needed to put them in some kind of order and get writing.

But then, just three miles from my front door, something awful happened. Something that made blogging seem completely irrelevant. I saw bits about the attack at the arena before I went to bed. At this point it was still being played down and I went to bed thinking it was just a blown speaker that had caused a bit of panic.

And then we heard the sirens.

It was clear that something was going on but it wasn’t until the next morning that I realised just how awful it was. The news I woke up to was just devastating.

Obviously whenever you see news like this on the tv it’s devastating but I think now I have Monkey it hit me harder. And the fact that it was so close to home. I pass the arena almost every day; on my way to work, shopping, visiting family.

There aren’t any words to talk about the awfulness of what happened. Going into town on the Tuesday morning was awful. Manchester, my home, the city that I love was so quiet. There were armed police everywhere and it felt like a very scary place to be.

But the terrorists picked the wrong people to try and terrify. Whilst Tuesday morning was horrible what I’ve seen in town since has been amazing. I love that Manchester is such a diverse city. We’re not going to let this divide us or spread hate. People of all races and religions are there in town doing whatever they can to help. And this weekend we’ve got the City Games and Great Manchester Run. There’ll be loads of us out there celebrating our city.

I’m not even sure what I’m trying to say here. But I had to say something. Basically I love my city and I’m proud of it’s people. Stay strong Manchester

2 thoughts on “Stay strong Manchester

Leave a Reply

