Mummy Meditations – Gentleness week 5 and Goodness week 1

Mummy Meditations – Gentleness week 5 and Goodness week 1

As I logged on to write up this week’s Mummy Meditations post I noticed last week’s was still sitting unpublished in my drafts. So this week you’re getting two for one!

Last week was the final week on gentleness and a bit of a bonus week as April was a five Sunday month. Our verse for the week was Philippians 4:5

Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. – Philippians 4:5.

I loved this verse. It seemed to finish off our month on gentleness perfectly. We’d talked about gentle touch and gentle words but now we had to think about how everybody could see that gentleness.

Monkey was poorly this week so we didn’t do many creative or practical things with the verse. We looked at it together as she said her prayers each day but that was it really. We continued with the gentleness quilt which has ended up being a much bigger project than I originally planned. It’s something we’re going to continue with even though gentleness month is ‘officially’ over.

MirrorPic_201757205439269

Doing less practical stuff did mean I had chance to reflect on the verse but more importantly on the last month, my first month taking part in Mummy Meditations. I have loved it. It’s really given me a focus in my prayer time, reading of the bible and most importantly to me sharing my faith with Monkey. I’m so happy I found it and would like to say a big thank you to Rachel and Naomi.

Now onto this week! It was our first week looking at goodness. Although Monkey was a lot better, neither of us were 100% so we didn’t do as much as we’d like with the verse.

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him. – Matthew 7:11

It’s not a great feeling to think of yourself as evil but here Jesus is reminding us that we’re not perfect, we all have our faults. However, no matter what my faults are, I’m a mum. I want the best for Monkey and will always do my best for her. I’d like to think I give good things to her. But if I can do that with all my faults what gifts could a perfect God give to her?

What struck me with this verse though was the last five words – to those who ask him. This verse gives us permission to ask God for things. He is a good Father and will only give us good gifts. I talked to Monkey about how we can ask God through prayer. We’ve signed up to Thy Kingdom Come – Global wave of prayer and can’t wait to get started. We’ve downloaded some wonderful prayer resources from their website.

I’m looking forward to next weeks verse and getting back on track with our Mummy Meditations

Leave a Reply

