Allergy Awareness Week 2017 – Monkey’s Diagnosis

Allergy Awareness Week 2017 – Monkey’s Diagnosis

This week is Allergy Awareness Week. Before having Monkey it’s the kind of thing that would have passed me by unnoticed. Now I understand just how little awareness of allergies there is and how important it is that they are better understood.

Before Monkey I was kind of aware that a few people may have allergies. I had no idea of how that affected their lives or just how serious it could be. I’m ashamed to admit I was one of ‘those’ people – I didn’t really believe in allergies. Surely nobody could be allergic to all that, they were just fussy eaters with over anxious parents weren’t they?

And then I had Monkey.

Monkey has multiple food allergies, GORD, eczema and asthma. And now I believe in allergies! There’s nothing quite like seeing your baby lying in a hospital bed to make you realise that allergies are a real thing and they are serious. Monkey’s problems started quite early. She was first taken into hospital at 10 days old due to concerns about her weight.

MirrorPic_201742521059296

Knowing what I know now the signs of allergies were there right from the start. Monkey seemed to have lots of ‘tummy bugs’ and although on the whole she was a happy smiley baby, when she cried she REALLY cried. It could go on for hours at a time and absolutely nothing would console her. I didn’t think much of it at the time though. After all babies poo and babies cry. Monkey was my first baby, maybe I’d just underestimated how hard it would be.

Then when Monkey was around three months old things really took a turn for the worse. She screamed constantly, we were going through a full pack of nappies a day and she was sick a lot. We spent a lot of time on the observation and assessment unit of our local children’s ward. It was at this time that allergies were first mentioned. I wasn’t convinced. Monkey was breast fed and not on solids yet – how could she possibly have food allergies? I trusted the doctors knew more than me though and agreed to cut dairy from my diet to see if it made a difference.

MirrorPic_201742521127727

A week into elimination we were out for a meal when Monkey’s feet began to swell and she started to wheeze. We took her straight to A&E and she ended up being admitted into hospital for a week. I think it was only then that I realised how serious things had got. Doctor’s were coming in from other departments to check she was ok as they had heard her crying and ‘it’s not a normal cry’. Dairy and soya allergies were confirmed. Weight was still an issue, at one point they were weighing her after every feed, nappy change or if she was sick. After those first 24 hours Monkey was weighed daily. At first we were told we would have to stay in until she was back on the growth chart. Thankfully they changed their mind and let us home as she started to gain. She wasn’t back on any centile for weight until she was almost a year old.

MirrorPic_201742521151125

The few weeks after we came home after diagnosis were probably the hardest for me. Allergens can take up to six weeks to leave breast milk so every time I fed Monkey I felt like I was poisoning her. It was horrible, I had to feed her but feeding her was making her poorly. With every week that passed it got a little easier though. The dietitian advised early weaning and prescribed a food called Neocate Spoon to help her gain weight and ensure she was getting all the nutrients she needed.

Weaning brought a whole new set of challenges. What should have been a fun and enjoyable time was full of fear. Every new food had the potential to make Monkey poorly and lots of them did. Food aversion can be a big problem in children with allergies but luckily though Monkey loves her food and we had the lovely people at Allergy UK to help – I spent many hours reading pages on their website in the early days and I still find them very useful today.

The early days with allergies, when you don’t know what’s wrong are so stressful. The next part of our allergy journey was learning to live with Monkey’s allergies which I’ll talk more soon.

27 thoughts on “Allergy Awareness Week 2017 – Monkey’s Diagnosis

  1. One of my twins has allergies as well so i can relate so much to this post. I have an older child with them as well but not as bad as Masons. Its definitely something that people dont fully get until you experience it first hand, and i would love to see more awareness out there too especially as Mason carries an EPI pen and im on alert lots. Sorry you guys had it tough as well seeing your little one suffer is just awful 😦 x

    Like

  2. That must have been such an ordeal for you. It is so difficult and heart-breaking seeing your litte one in pain. It’s great that you are talking about this issue, I didn’t realise it could affect babies x

    Like

  3. I’m really sorry that your little one is suffering… really sorry… I’m worried about what sort of allergies my daughter may develop, since most of my family have various allergies…

    Like

  4. We never expect these things to happen and they can be hard to cope with at first but sites like Allergy UK can be a life saver and give some really useful advice. Sorry to hear that you had to go through this x

    Like

  5. I’m so sorry you and your family had to go through all that! I never realised how bad food allergies could get! I’ve always had a lot of skin allergies and remember going for those horrible patch test as a kid but that is next level!

    Like

  6. Oh wow, what a nightmare for you all! It’s crazy to think that you had to keep feeding her even though it was making her sick, thankful that they had something for you to wean her off with. I’m an allergy sufferers so I know the perils you can face with food but I’m glad she still loves her food

    Like

  7. Oh my goodness .. I can’t imagine how difficult this had to have been for you and your family. Especially with a little one who can’t talk to you and tell you what’s wrong or what hurts. A friend has a child with food allergies and I’ve seen first hand what a challenge it can be

    Like

  8. poor little monkey. My eldest son came out in hives one day just after his 1st birthday. The doctor thought it was cows milk, we had to give him all different kinds of milk and watch what he ate, but we couldn’t work out what the trigger was, then as suddenly has it came it went when he was around 3 and half. He’s now 12 and never had any more problems

    Like

  9. It must have been so stressful for you to not being able to do anything to help your baby. Who knew that allergies can develop so early and they can be so bad?

    Like

  10. I am so sorry you had to go though this. My friend has allergies and it passed on to her children but I didn’t realise how serious this is. Please tell me Monkey is thriving now and put on weight? I feel I need to know more X X

    Like

Leave a Reply

