Mummy Meditations – Gentleness week 2

Mummy Meditations – Gentleness week 2

After discovering Mummy Meditations last week I was excited to learn what this week’s bible verse would be. This week I would have a full week to explore the verse and look at it with Monkey.

Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander noone, to be peacable and considerate, and always to be gentle towards everyone. – Titus 3:1-2

This is a great verse to study with little people. It’s basically telling us how we need to act as christians. Whilst the advice was for the early christians in Crete, the message remains relevant today – we should try to live a good life as an example to everyone of God’s grace.

I have to say we’re really lucky with Monkey. On the whole she is kind, caring, great at sharing and generally well behaved. But she is two, going on three and like most kids that age she has times where she will test the boundaries. This verse gave me a great opportunity to talk to her about the behaviour I expect from her, and more importantly why.

We started by reading the verse together and talking about what it meant. I then asked Monkey for some examples of how she could do what this verse was asking her to do. I was pleasantly surprised with some of her answers. We had the usual things like listening to parents, sharing, taking turns etc but she also talked about making sandwiches for people with no houses (a few weeks ago she helped me make sandwiches before I took them out with a soup kitchen in Manchester city centre) and writing to the poorly children (she is a fortnightly writer for the amazing charity Post Pals). I was amazed at her empathy for her age and it was great to see her realise that we can do more than just be good, we can do good.

I wanted to do some activities based around the verse with Monkey. The first was a sorting and sticking exercise. I wrote the verse at the top of the page and then wrote out lots of things she might do. She had to sort the things that were acting in this verse from the things that weren’t and stick them to the sheet.

20170408_091039

Monkey loves sticking so she enjoyed this activity and talked lots whilst she was doing it about why things were or were not making it onto her sheet.

Mummy Meditations is focusing on the fruits of the spirit and this month it’s looking at gentleness. For that reason I wanted to focus on the very last bit of the verse – and always to be gentle to everyone. I wrote this out on a bright piece of paper and Monkey decorated it with feathers, going back to our talk last week about feathers being a gentle touch.

20170408_091250

20170408_091454

We’ve also started an ongoing project for the month we’re studying gentleness (and probably a while after that) – our gentleness quilt. The idea came to me when sorting out Monkey’s old clothes. I had some that were stained or ripped so not suitable for selling or giving to the charity shop. It seemed a shame to just throw them so I started thinking if I could use them for any kind of craft. I think a quilt is another good visual reminder of gentleness, just like the feathers, so I decided that’s what we’d make. Each time I see or hear Monkey being gentle she’ll earn a small square of fabric cut from those old clothes which I will then sew onto a blanket. So far Monkey’s doing much better than me – she’s earnt lots of squares, I’ve sewn none! I’m hoping to get started tonight.

20170408_112315

Mummy Meditations is an achievable way of spending time with God whilst raising children. You can find out more by visiting Rachel Ridler’s blog.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Mummy Meditations – Gentleness week 2

  1. She sounds like such an amazing, selfless and loving girl. It’s such a sweet thing that she went beyond the usual “what could a child do to be good” and thought of feeding the homeless.
    I’m not a religious person but I do think we can all learn something from the kinder sides of religion and it probably wouldn’t hurt to build our own morals on a few of its teachings.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful way to be bringing up your daughter! There are many valuable lessons to be learnt from God, or as I understand God as ‘the higher power’. I love how you are engaging these lessons with her – sensory feathers to represent being soft and gentle. I particularly love the idea of earning squares for a patchwork quilt, definitely going to be passing that on to my friend’s with little ones who craft.

    Like

  3. your daughter sounds amazing, your really are doing a great job. I have three kids and when they are by themselves they are like little angels, but but them all together and they are always fighting between themselves

    Like

Leave a Reply

